Parents of Preemies Day – DAY 209

Nearly 13 million babies, or about 10% of total worldwide births, are born prematurely each year.  Nearly one million infants die each year as a result of pre-term birth, or about 28% of all deaths that occur within the first month of life.

When a baby is born extremely premature, parents find their world turned upside down, sometimes faced with life and death decisions, while facing an uncertain future for their baby. Experts are just beginning to understand the intense psychological effects that a premature birth has on the parents.

Today, the first-ever Parents of Preemies Day is being launched to continue to build support for parents by recognizing the courage and commitment it takes to stay strong and resilient when premature birth turns a family’s world upside down.

Spread the word to family, friends and parents of preemies about this day designed for them. Please go to www.parentsofpreemiesday.org or visit the Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/parentsofpreemiesday.

To learn more about our personal preemie struggles and successes, see NICU pictures, and see how our son is doing now, hover your mouse over the “Bug’s Story” tab at the top of this page. I split his story into three parts so you aren’t overwhelmed by pages of text!

To help parents of preemies and preemies themselves, consider donating to my March for Babies team by clicking on the banner at the top of the right hand column on this page, or go to my team’s site here.

March for Babies

2 thoughts on “Parents of Preemies Day – DAY 209

  1. My oldest son was born premature and spent 3 weeks in the hospital before he could come home. I remember pretty much living at the hospital, delivering pumped breast milk so he wouldn’t get formula and many restless nights. I was so relieved, but also terrified to bring him home since I felt like I had no idea what I was doing. I’m proud to say he is now almost 9 years old and doing wonderful. I am so grateful to the hospital, doctors, nurses and parents with preemies organization that did such a great job with my little man!

    • Angela, thank you do much for sharing your story! I love hearing about our tiny babies becoming healthy and growing up. 🙂 Hope you had a great Parents of Preemies Day and thanks for participating in/recognizing it with me!

Leave a Reply

