Starving – DAY 201

I finally read The Hunger Games. Actually, I read the whole trilogy in three days, which is why I haven’t been posting anything here in the past 5 days. I thank everyone who recommended it to me (many of you did!) and especially my sister Alana, who plunked the first book down in my lap the day before her spring break ended and she returned to school. 😀

The first thing that came to mind as I read The Hunger Games was a short story I read in my ninth grade English class (before I transferred out of it to the gifted program), The Most Dangerous Game. It had quite an impression on me and The Hunger Games brought it all back, very vividly. As I read, I realized The Hunger Games trilogy reminded me of a lot of great stories. It’s this twisted combination of 1984, Lord of the Flies, Ender’s Game, and The Most Dangerous Game (I recommend all of them!). With some Judy Blume-type teen angst thrown in for good measure. It’s a great cross of young adult fiction and science fiction, and I can see why it has shown up on high school English reading lists.

And now, of course, I’m “starving” to see the movie adaptation of The Hunger Games. 😉

2 thoughts on “Starving – DAY 201

    • I think you’ll like it 🙂 Thanks! I don’t feel sick anymore just can’t shake the cough. Hope your family has managed to get through the week without any illnesses!

Leave a Reply

