365 Days of… Bug! – DAY 195

Today is Bug’s official first birthday! If for some reason you haven’t yet, you can read all about his unexpected birth last year by hovering your mouse over the “Bug’s Story” tab, above this post. It’s been split into 3 parts so you should take your time with it. (Regular readers – I added the RSV post to this tab, finally finishing his story!)

I’ve learned so much from this year about myself as a mom, my husband as a dad, and both of us a strong couple. I discovered how bad stress without relief is for pregnant mommies and their unborn children, eek. I met my baby for the first time! I learned how to prioritize the really meaningful things in my life. I learned how to deal with very little sleep, how to effectively pack a diaper bag/get myself ready/get my baby ready/show up on time, how to breast feed (and how to breast pump), how to be much more patient than I ever knew I needed to be, how to pull off not showering for 3 days and still look ok, and how to be truly compassionate for my family members, friends, even strangers, in a way I wasn’t able to be before. I’ve fostered so many new (and revived some old) relationships as a direct result of my son’s birth. This year with Bug has completely changed my life forever. I love him so much that writing about it doesn’t do it justice.

And now I’m looking to the future. How else will Bug change my life? What awesome things will he do? What kind of a person will be when he’s grown up? Am I doing the right things to help him be a successful, kind, loving, and good man? I spend so much time writing (ok, usually grumbling) about the here and now that I forget to be excited for the future of my son. (Thank you to my friend Julia for always writing about your daughter and your hopes for her future – it’s the little reminder I need to change my thinking!)

A Year in Bug’s Life Through Photos:

7 weeks gestation

11 weeks gestation

21 weeks gestation

About 10 hours old/34 weeks gestation

1 month old

2 months old

3 months old

4 months old

5 months old

6 months old

7 months old

8 months old

9 months old

10 months old

11 months old

12 months old - taken this morning!

So what have we been up to today?

We measured him for the first time on his height chart. He also looks about 25 in this picture.

We practiced standing in his crib.

We explored under his crib and found FOUR missing pacifiers.

We did important computer research.

We played outside in the front yard.

We also ate a dead leaf (not pictured).

So psyched!

Finally, we went shopping at CVS and Wegmans, and Mimi made him birthday cupcakes. 😛 Hopefully he likes them better this time!

8 thoughts on “365 Days of… Bug! – DAY 195

  1. I teared up reading this! Happy birthday Patch. What a beautiful son you have. You are such a good mommy. Way to make it to the one year mark. Enjoy the rest of the day!

  2. Happy Birthday to Bug!

    And thanks for mentioning me in your post. I don’t think anyone who reads your blog can doubt how much you love the little man. He is lucky to have such a caring, loving mommy bug and daddy bug. I wish a healthy year #2 for Patch!

    Too bad we don’t do arranged marriages anymore….

    • You’re welcome! It’s the truth, reading your posts reminds to be happy with what I have and get excited for all that will happen in the future. 🙂

      I agree, our kids would make a really cute couple! Imagine what their babies would look like, hehe.

Leave a comment