Leap Day – DAY 186

Happy Leap Day! Did you know that not only are there leap years and leap days, but leap seconds too? Ok, enough science nerd stuff for now.

What leap plans do you have for today? We aren’t doing anything special. But I did want to take the opportunity to remind everyone that it is two months until our local March for Babies event! I have raised $185 and my team, Team Patch, has raised a total of $400. Thank you to everyone who has helped us with our cause so far.

If you haven’t gotten involved or donated yet and were interested in what March for Babies is all about, please continue reading below.

I organized my team, Team Patch, in honor of my son Bug. He was born prematurely (1.5 months early) last March, weighing in at 5 lbs. 4 oz. I’m walking in March for Babies to recognize Bug and all of his preemie friends, call attention to this all too common problem, and assist March of Dimes in their efforts to help the parents and families of premature babies.

Every day, thousands of babies like Bug are born too soon, too small and often very sick. March of Dimes has performed research and found treatments that helped Bug and many other babies survive their early births. Thanks to their work, after his 15-day stay in the NICU and a 5-day stay at CHOP for a preemie respiratory infection, Bug has gone on to be a healthy and happy baby with no long-term health complications.

The money my team raises will support March of Dimes research and programs that help moms have full-term pregnancies and babies begin healthy lives. And it will be used to bring comfort and information to families with a baby in newborn intensive care units, families like mine.

I would love if you could help my team this year. If you want to get involved, and join and walk with my team, please go to my team website here.

If you can’t walk with us, would you consider helping my team reach our goal by making a donation?

  • You can donate online via credit card or PayPal on my fundraising page or by clicking on the fundraising badge near the top right of this page.
  • If you’d rather donate in form of cash or check, you can pledge at the same fundraising page above or leave me a comment on this post and I’ll give you more info.

Thank you for helping me give all babies a healthy start!

March for Babies

Leave a Reply

