Books – DAY 145

My book list has been updated! And I’ve created a new one for 2012. Check both pages out here and here, or just click on them at the top of this page.

I’ve read the following books, and in the interest of your time and my sanity, I’ve included SHORT reviews. Brevity, brevity, brevity.

The Left Behind Series by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins
I did it! I really read every book … or so I thought. It appears they wrote one more (as well as 3 prequels…) according to Wikipedia. *sigh* There goes all my feelings of accomplishment. Glad that they did write another though, as it appears to wrap up all the loose ends not addressed at the end of what I thought was the last book. My review was going to be about how it was a fast paced, action packed, awesome series to read but that the ending was abrupt and didn’t really “end” much of anything. Anyhow, it was a cool fictional account of the Rapture and what happens to the other people left behind, hence the name of the first book and series. Maybe someday I’ll actually read the last book! I own all the others so this one will probably be a library lend. I recommend this for anyone interested in books about the Armageddon, the end of the world, or is into Christian books.

Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares
This is the last installment of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series. Thank you Amanda for letting me raid your book stash, I will be doing it again soon! Reading this book was interesting experience for me since like the characters, I was a teenager when I read the first 3, and an adult reading the last. It touches on interesting themes like growing up, how friendships change, how we deal with life-altering decisions as adults, and motherhood. I’ll admit it, I cried and cried and cried, and not just because an awesome series had ended. It was a quick and easy read, and as I’m obsessed with the series, it took about 3 days to finish.

Forever by Judy Blume
A re-read from when I was in 8th or 9th grade, and totally worth the revisit. It’s eye-opening to read a book you originally read as a young adult and see how your understanding of it has changed as an adult and a parent. It really gave me perspective on how teenagers and adults think about and understand things WAY differently. (Our brains still change a lot as teenagers, and the introduction of high levels of those pesky sex hormones really mask our way of viewing things! Yeah, neuroscience.) Anyhow, it’s about two high schoolers who fall in love for the first time, have a sexual relationship for the first time, and eventually grow up and grow apart. Definitely not a children’s book, but good for a teenager to read. And now that I have a little more life experience than I did in high school, I can see it’s a totally dead on story about high school and love and growing up. Judy Blume, one of my most favorite authors, knocks it out of the park.

The Prodigal God by Timothy Keller
This book, a gift from my friend Andrea, totally opened my eyes about Christianity and my faith in God. Having a baby changed everything in my life, including a very much renewed interest in the faith of my family. This book shows how the parable of The Prodigal Son from the Bible is really the heart of the Christian faith. It was a quick, easy read and I plan to re-read it again to think about all its implications in my life. It brought up so many questions in my mind, and answered all of them. Even if you aren’t Christian, parts of it go into depth about the historical and biblical research done to dissect the parable and put it into a modern day context. (One of my favorite college classes, St. Paul and the Early Catholic Church, required us to take a verse of scripture and analyze it using several different translations of the Bible – it was one of the coolest college papers I had to write!)

I’m now currently reading a book that Daddy Bug gave me for Christmas, Darwin’s Camera by Phillip Prodger. I’ll do another short review when I’m finished with it. 😉

2 thoughts on “Books – DAY 145

  1. There’s actually four original Sisterhood books with Sisterhood Everlasting being the 5th. It’s probably just a typo on your part, but if not, then you missed reading one!

Leave a Reply

