Books – DAY 7

Believe it or not, I finally have some time to read again. Not reading students’ papers for work, not reading text books for grad classes, not reading my grad papers for editing, but reading for pleasure. ๐Ÿ™‚ I still have to make an active choice to do it but I am so happy that I reading for pleasure is an option again (TV, Facebook, and other idle activities are just so distracting)! I find that I read more slowly now because I don’t usually have long, uninterrupted segments of time to focus. For example, I used to be able to check out 3 or 4 books at a time from the library and finish them all by the time they were due. I can barely finish one in the allotted time now! Ahh, motherhood.

My favorite genres are historical fiction, science fiction, and non-fiction – about history or science. I’m sensing a pattern here. My newest favorite genre is, of course, parenting. I also love reading my friends’ blogs and the other blogs I follow (see the links in column on the right hand side of this page).

Books That Made the Cut in 2011:

Currently Reading: (because I’m the freak who reads more than one book at a time)
Future Reading:
  • E-Reads: I want to use my mom’s Kindle to take out library books instead of going to the actual library. They just got the capability to do so!
  • The Left Behind series: I started reading this series a long time ago when it first came out but never finished it. It’s a fictional account of the final days and Armageddon, based on the Book of Revelation from the Bible.
I’m going to start a section on this blog to keep track of my current books. What books are you reading right now? Do you have any recommendations for me? I’m open to suggestion. ๐Ÿ™‚
5 thoughts on “Books – DAY 7

  1. You’ll love it! Necessary humor, especially if you get tired of the more medically based info. It’s good to know the science but sometimes you just need a laugh ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Book Updates – DAY 41 « A Year of Mommy

Leave a Reply

